Industry, Research, Energy and Space Policy

The Committee on Industry, Research and Energy in the European Parliament

Since this beginning of the electoral term (2014-2019) I am serving as substitute member in the EP’s Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE). European Socialists and Democrats are prominently represented on this committee by one full member and three substitute members. ITRE covers a vast spectrum of policy areas: the development of a competitive and forward-looking industry, the support of small and medium-sized enterprises, the creation of a sustainable and climate-friendly energy policy, the assistance of European research and academia as well as the implementation of increasing digitalisation. My work in this committee focuses on telecommunication, Europe’s digital agenda, research and space policy.

Telecommunication and the Digital Agenda

Most Europeans know that your network provider will charge you for using your phone abroad. The telecommunications market remains largely national. As a result, the European Commission has proposed comprehensive legislation on the creation of a digital single market. The proposal aims at harmonising the European telecommunications market and at creating common regulations. As a result, roaming charges will finally be abolished in June 2017. However, issues like the maintenance of free and open internet usage will keep us busy during the years to come.
Furthermore, in 2015 the European Commission has proposed a ‘digital agenda for Europe’, which is meant to push forward the extension of high-speed internet links, to prepare Europe’s industry for the use of new media and technologies (Industry 4.0), to advance adequate data protection laws. The digital agenda must also have a social component. That’s why I want to make sure that digital education as well as the consequences of digitalisation of the labour market are at the centre of our discussions. To reach this aim, I regularly participate in round tables with unions and relevant associations.

Research

The new structure of the European research programmes was already agreed upon in the previous electoral period: during the next five years the European funding programme Horizon 2020 is meant to support leading-edge as well as basic research, thereby contributing to the economic and intellectual development of Europe. In ITRE I accompany the implementation of Horizon 2020. We are also beginning to think about possible future funding programmes, which I would like to be developed in conjunction with researchers on the ground. As a former local politician I also want to make sure, that EU’s funding programmes work together and are well-coordinated.

Space Policy

Europe’s economy has become increasingly dependent on space-based technolocy. For this reason the European Union possesses its own space policy. While the European Space Agency (ESA) celebrates spectacular successes in its effort to explore the solar system, the EU’s space policy is concentrated on space applications. With Galileo the EU will possess its own satellite navigation system, which, as opposed to others, is under total civilian control. Galileo’s first ten satellites are already in orbit. The earth observation satellites of the Copernicus programme are preparing our continent for the challenges that come with climate change. We will soon need more sophisticated space-based applications in the area of telecommunications, whose development will be carried out by European enterprises.

What about Saxony?

Industry, research, digitalisation and energy – these areas are of ever increasing importance for Saxony. Saxon universities are successfully participating in European research programmes. Saxon enterprises are facing the challenges of digitalisation. Saxon SMEs are looking for EU funding. That is why I represent Saxon interests in the areas of industry, research, telecommunications, energy and space policy – get in touch with me, in Saxony or in Brussels.

Current Activities

  • Shadow rapporteur of the Group of European Socialists and Democrats on a European Parliament initiative report on the adequacy of consumer protection-related legislation in the digital area (leading role in the internal market committee)
  • Shadow rapporteur of the Group of European Socialists and Democrats on a European Parliament initiative report on space-based applications in the area of security and defence
  • Contact person of the Group of European Socialists and Democrats on the European Regulators Group for Electronic Communications
  • In May the European Commission presented a strategy for a digital single market. I am currently working on the European Parliament’s initiative report that will clarify our position on the Commission’s strategy.
Lauch of a Copernicus satellite: Copernicus is an initiative headed by the European Commission (EC) in partnership with the European Space Agency (ESA). Photo: ESA/CNES/ARIANESPACE–Optique Video du CSG , JM Guillon©

Further Information

European Commission Directorate-General Enterprise and Industry
European Parliament Committee on Industry, Research and Energy
Strategy paper on a digital single market

Industrie, Forschung, Energie und Raumfahrt

Der Ausschuss für Industrie, Forschung und Energie im Europäischen Parlament

Seit dieser Legislaturperiode (2014-2019) bin ich stellvertretendes Mitglied im Ausschuss für Industrie, Forschung und Energie (ITRE). Die europäischen Sozialdemokratinnen und Sozialdemokraten sind mit einem Vollmitglied und drei stellvertretenden Mitgliedern prominent im Ausschuss vertreten. Der ITRE-Ausschuss deckt eine große Bandbreite von Themen ab: die Entwicklung einer konkurrenzfähigen und zukunftsweisenden Industrie, die Förderung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, eine nachhaltige und klimafreundliche Energiepolitik, die Förderung der europäischen Forschungslandschaft und nicht zuletzt die Gestaltung der zunehmenden Digitalisierung. In meiner Ausschusstätigkeit konzentriere ich mich vor allem auf die Themenbereiche Telekommunikation und digitale Agenda, Raumfahrt und Forschung.

Telekommunikation und digitale Agenda

Die meisten Europäerinnen und Europäer wissen, dass man beim Benutzen eines Mobiltelefons im EU-Ausland noch immer Gebühren zahlen muss. Der Telekommunikationsmarkt ist nach wie vor ein nationalstaatlich dominierter Bereich. Bereits 2013 hat deshalb die Europäische Kommission ein umfassendes Gesetzespaket zur Schaffung eines einheitlichen digitalen Binnenmarktes vorgeschlagen. Ziel soll es sein, den europäischen Telekommunikationsmarkt zu harmonisieren und einheitliche Regelungen zu schaffen. Infolge dessen werden im Juni 2017 die Roaming-Gebühren endlich abgeschafft. Dennoch gibt es eine Reihe an Themen, unter anderem die Gewährleistung eines freien und offenen Internets, die uns in den kommenden Jahren weiter beschäftigen werden.

In diesem Jahr hat die Europäische Kommission darüber hinaus eine neue „Digitale Agenda für Europa“ vorgestellt. Es geht darum, den Breitbandausbau voranzutreiben, die europäische Industrie auf die Nutzung neuer Medien und Technologien (Industrie 4.0) vorzubereiten, einen an den neuen technologischen Herausforderungen orientierten Datenschutz zu schaffen, sowie den Rechtsrahmen an die Anforderungen einer digitalisierten Gesellschaft anzupassen. Die digitale Agenda muss aber auch eine soziale Komponente haben. Ich setze mich daher dafür ein, dass die Themen digitale Bildung und die Folgen der Digitalisierung für den Arbeitsmarkt stets ins Zentrum gerückt werden. Aus diesem Grund beteilige ich mich auch an einem gemeinsamen Gesprächskreis mit Verbänden und Gewerkschaften.

Forschung

Bereits in der vergangenen Legislaturperiode konnte eine neue Struktur der europäischen Forschungsförderung begründet werden: In den nächsten fünf Jahren soll das europäische Förderprogramm Horizont 2020 sowohl die Spitzen- als auch die Grundlagenforschung fördern und einen Beitrag zum wirtschaftlichen und intellektuellen Wachstums Europas leisten. Im ITRE-Ausschuss werde ich vor allem die Umsetzung des Horizont 2020-Programms begleiten. Darüber hinaus starten wir bereits die ersten Überlegungen für mögliche Folgeprogramme – hier ist mir eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Forscherinnen und Forschern wichtig. Als Regionalpolitikerin ist es mir darüber hinaus ein großes Anliegen, eine möglichst gute Verzahnung der verschiedenen europäischen Förderprogramme zu erreichen.

Raumfahrt

Die europäische Wirtschaft ist mehr denn je von Raumfahrt abhängig. Deshalb besitzt die Europäische Union seit dem Vertrag von Lissabon eine eigene Raumfahrtpolitik. Während die Europäische Weltraumorganisation (ESA) spektakuläre Erfolge bei der Erforschung des Sonnensystems erzielt hat, konzentriert sich die EU auf die alltäglichen Anwendungen der Raumfahrt. Mit Galileo wird Europa über ein eigenes, unter ziviler Kontrolle stehendes Satellitennavigationssystem verfügen. Die ersten zehn Galileo-Satelliten befinden sich bereits im Orbit. Das Kopernikus-Programm bereitet unseren Kontinent mit seinen Erdbeobachtungssatelliten auf den Klimawandels vor. In Zukunft werden auch im Bereich Kommunikation Weltraum-basierte Anwendungen benötigt, an deren Entwicklung europäische Unternehmen beteiligt sind.

Und in Sachsen?

Industrie, Forschung, Digitalisierung und Energie – all diese Arbeitsbereiche sind auch für Sachsen von immer stärkerer Bedeutung: sächsische Universitäten beteiligen sich mit großem Erfolg an europäischen Forschungsförderungsprogrammen, sächsische Unternehmen stehen vor den Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung und sächsische Mittelständler suchen nach Fördermöglichkeiten der EU. Ich bin deshalb auch Ihre Ansprechpartnerin für sächsische Interessen in den Bereichen Industrie, Forschung, Telekommunikation, Energie und Raumfahrt – kommen sie mit mir ins Gespräch, in Sachsen oder in Brüssel.

Aktuelle Aktivitäten

  • Schattenberichterstatterin der S&D Fraktion für einen Initiativbericht des Europäischen Parlaments über die Angemessenheit der verbraucherschutzrelevanten Gesetzgebung im digitalen Bereich (federführend im Binnenmarktausschuss)
  • Schattenberichterstatterin der S&D Fraktion für einen Initiativbericht des Europäischen Parlaments über die Weltraumgestützte Fähigkeiten im Bereich Sicherheit und Verteidigung
  • Kontaktperson der S&D Fraktion zum Gremium Europäischer Regulierungsstellen für elektronische Kommunikation
  • Im Mai hat die Europäische Kommission eine Strategie für einen digitalen Binnenmarkt in Europa vorgestellt. Aktuell arbeite ich daher auch intensiv am Initiativbericht des Europäischen Parlaments mit, der unsere Position zur Strategie der Europäischen Kommission formuliert.
Start eines Copernicus-Satelliten: Copernicus ist eine Initiative der Europäischen Kommission (EC) und der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA), Foto: ESA/CNES/ARIANESPACE–Optique Video du CSG , JM Guillon ©

Weiterführende Informationen

Generaldirektion Unternehmen und Industrie der Europäischen Kommission

Ausschuss für Industrie, Forschung und Energie des Europäischen Parlaments

Rahmenabkommen zwischen Europäischer Weltraumbehörde und Europäischer Union

Strategiepapier für einen digitalen Binnenmarkt in Europa