About Me

The Politician

Constanze Krehl, MdEP
Photo: © Udo Bullmann

I have served as an elected Member of the European Parliament since 1994. Ever since starting my political journey on the European level as a parliamentary observer in 1991, I stand for a Europe of social justice, solidarity and inclusion.

As an MEP I commute between Leipzig, Brussels and Strasbourg. Once a month, the Parliament gathers in Strasbourg for a plenary meeting. At this meeting the Parliamentarians discuss and vote on new legislative proposals and resolutions. Moreover, they meet representatives of the EU Council and the European Commission, exchanging views and refining opinions. Nevertheless, the bulk of the European Parliament’s work takes place in Brussels, especially in the individual committees.

Since 2004 I am the coordinator of the European Socialists in the Regional Development Committee (REGI). I have been advocating for a European development process that is built around the principle of social justice. In this vein, my efforts are focused especially on Saxony and the East German Länder to help them catch up with the more developed regions.

Apart from Strasbourg and Brussels I am also working in my local constituency. It is very important to me to maintain close ties with the citizens of Saxony. I try to bring European politics home by participating in public events on European, German and local issues. At the same time, I take up citizens’ concerns, carrying them with me to Brussels and Strasbourg.

Zur Person

Die Politikerin

Constanze Krehl, MdEP
Foto: © Udo Bullmann

Bereits seit 1994 bin ich ein gewähltes Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments und trete für ein soziales, solidarisches und integratives Europa ein. Begonnen habe ich meine Arbeit auf europäischer Ebene 1991 als Beobachterin im Parlament.

Als Europaabgeordnete pendele ich zwischen Leipzig, Brüssel und Straßburg. Das Parlament kommt eine Woche im Monat für ein gemeinsames Plenum in Straßburg zusammen. Dort werden neue Gesetzesentwürfe diskutiert und abgestimmt, Stellungnahmen abgegeben und mit den Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der Europäischen Kommission und des Rates die verschiedenen Standpunkte erörtert. Brüssel ist der Ort, an dem die hauptsächliche und Basisarbeit des Parlaments passiert, vor allem in den einzelnen Ausschüssen.

Seit 2004 bin ich Koordinatorin der europäischen Sozialdemokratinnen und Sozialdemokraten im Ausschuss für Regionale Entwicklung (REGI). Ich setze mich mit meiner Arbeit im Ausschuss dafür ein, dem europäischen Entwicklungsprozess eine sozial gerechte Ausprägung zu geben und engagiere mich in diesem Zusammenhang besonders für Sachsen und die ostdeutschen Länder und deren Förderung, um Entwicklungsunterschiede gegenüber anderen europäischen Regionen abzubauen.

Neben Straßburg und Brüssel bin ich natürlich auch in Sachsen unterwegs. Dabei ist es mir wichtig, die Bürgerinnen und Bürger über die Arbeit der Europäischen Union in Gesprächen zu informieren, an Veranstaltungen zu europäischen, bundespolitischen aber auch sächsischen Themen teilzunehmen und aktuelle, in Sachsen geführte Diskussionen aufzunehmen und nach Brüssel und Straßburg weiterzutragen.